THE RESIDENCE OF THE GOVERNOR OF MINNESOTA

3M Thinsulate 75 Window Films

Providing quality and versatility, the 3M Thinsulate 75 window films have allowed many clients to benefit from their many advantages. The residence of the Governor of Minnesota is a perfect example of how insulating films can help our clients.

Background

The residence of the Governor of Minnesota has been home to 10 governors over the past decades and encompasses a land area that totals over 16,000 square feet. The residence has nine bedrooms and eight bathrooms and has been a heritage site under the Register for Historic Buildings since 1974. This iconic architectural landmark is located on Summit Avenue and is considered an important symbol of Minnesota’s historical heritage.

A Big Challenge

This important property has been well preserved by the state as a historical monument. Therefore, under conservation law it is not permitted to alter its architectural design in any way. However, it was necessary to undertake certain renovations in order to ensure that the house would be more energy efficient. The single-pane windows allowed harmful air currents to enter into the house. Additionally, the renovation work had to abide by all the government standards for increased energy efficiency. This was a challenge that presented many obstacles. The contractors would have to carry out the work properly while complying with all the imposed norms and requirements.

The administration in charge of this historic Governor of Minnesota’s residence now faced a complex dilemma. The energy efficiency standards of the property had to meet the requirements of a new law stipulating that all government-owned buildings had to respect the unique character of the architecture and leave it practically unchanged.

Unsurpassed Comfort

The administration opted for the installation of 3M Thinsulate 75 window films. By using these 3M thermal control films, they were able to considerably increase the level of insulation inside the residence. This technology allows the solar heat touching the glass, to be emitted inside the residence during the cold seasons in order to regulate the ambient temperature and maintain a more comfortable interior. This revolutionary solution is applied directly onto existing windows and is near completely invisible. The protective film also reduces any loss of heat up to almost 38%, resulting in significant savings on heating costs. This same technology adapts to the changing climate by preserving the coolness of the interiors in the summers, thereby creating the opposite effect.

Complete Protection Against UV Rays

In addition to increasing the level of insulation, 3M Thinsulate 75 window films use a patented technology to help protect the furniture in the residence manor. The protective film not only improves the insulation but also prevents the discoloration of furniture placed near the windows. UV rays can generally have a damaging effect on furniture and can accelerate the deterioration of materials sensitive to brightness. Films with Low-E technology actively block 99.9% of UV rays and give the furniture inside the residence full protection against exposure to the sun.

Substantial Savings

The contract for the residence of the Governor of Minnesota included the installation of approximately 11,000 square feet of 3M Thinsulate 75 window film onto the pre-existing window glass. This technology proved to be a much simpler and more cost effective alternative to replacing all the windows in the house. It has not only helped to greatly improve the building’s energy performance, but has also saved the administration significant amounts of money.

Preserving The Architectural Aesthetic

Being almost completely transparent, 3M Thinsulate insulation films have had no aesthetic impact on the appearance of the residence. Because the windows weren’t replaced, the entire architectural aesthetic of the building was fully preserved. The manor was thus able to retain the unique character for which it is renown.

ENERGY EFFICIENCY IMPROVEMENT

PROTECTION AGAINST UV RAYS

PRESERVATION OF THE ARCHITECTURAL AESTHETIC

THERMAL COMFORT FOR ALL SEASONS

There are many great reasons for choosing 3M Thinsulate 75 insulation window films. The case of the historic residence of the Governor of Minnesota is a perfect example of the many advantages you and your family can benefit from when using this technology. Now you can dramatically improve your windows’ level of insulation while at the same time protecting your belongings and furniture from the damages caused by UV rays. You also save significant amounts of money while benefiting from outstanding thermal protection. To learn more about our products, get in touch and speak to one of our advisors today.

RÉSIDENCE DU GOUVERNEUR DU MINNESOTA

Pellicules de fenêtres 3M Thinsulate 75

Comme les pellicules de fenêtres 3M Thinsulate 75 sont polyvalentes, elles ont permis à plusieurs clients de bénéficier de leurs nombreux avantages. La résidence du gouverneur du Minnesota est un bon exemple des bienfaits que procurent les pellicules isolantes à notre clientèle.

Historique

La résidence du gouverneur du Minnesota a accueilli 10 gouverneurs au cours des dernières décennies et compte une superficie de plus de 16 000 pieds carrés. Elle comprend neuf chambres et huit salles de bain. De plus, elle fait partie du registre des bâtiments historiques depuis 1974. Cet emblème architectural est situé sur Summit Avenue et est considéré comme un symbole important du patrimoine historique du Minnesota.

Un défi de taille

Cette importante propriété est classée monument historique par l’état. Son style architectural ne pouvait donc pas être modifié. Toutefois, des travaux de rénovation étaient nécessaires afin d’assurer un rendement énergétique plus efficace. Ses fenêtres à simple vitrage laissaient pénétrer des courants d’air nuisibles. De plus, les travaux devaient répondre aux normes gouvernementales en vigueur en matière d’économies d’énergie. Ce défi de taille présentait de nombreuses problématiques. Le mandat devait être effectué convenablement tout en respectant les indications prescrites. L’administration de la résidence historique du gouverneur du Minnesota faisait donc face à un dilemme complexe. L’efficacité énergétique de la propriété devait désormais répondre à une nouvelle loi s’appliquant à tous les bâtiments appartenant au gouvernement sans affecter ou modifier le cachet unique de son architecture.

Un confort inégalé

L’administration a donc opté pour les pellicules de fenêtres 3M Thinsulate 75. Grâce à cette alternative, le niveau d’isolation de la résidence a considérablement augmenté grâce au film de contrôle thermique. Cette technologie permet de transposer la chaleur solaire vers l’intérieur de la demeure durant la période froide afin de rendre la température ambiante nettement plus confortable. Cette solution révolutionnaire est appliquée directement sur les fenêtres déjà existantes et est presque totalement invisible. De plus, le film de protection permet de réduire les pertes de chaleur. Ces réductions peuvent aller jusqu’à près de 38% et engendrer des économies intéressantes sur les frais de chauffage. Aussi, cette même technologie s’adapte au climat. Durant l’été, elle produit l’effet inverse en conservant la fraicheur des lieux.

Protection complète contre les rayons UV

Les pellicules de fenêtres 3M Thinsulate 75 contribuent également à protéger le mobilier du manoir grâce à sa technologie brevetée. En plus d’augmenter le niveau d’isolation, le film de protection prévient la décoloration des meubles qui se trouvent à proximité des fenêtres. Généralement, les rayons UV ont pour effet d’abimer le mobilier ou d’accélérer la détérioration des biens sensibles à la luminosité. Le film low-e bloque 99.9% des rayons UV, ce qui procure une protection complète au mobilier de la résidence contre l’exposition au soleil.

Des économies considérables

Le mandat de la résidence du gouverneur du Minnesote a nécessité l’installation d’environ 11 000 pieds carrés de pellicules 3M Thinsulate 75 sur le verre des fenêtres déjà en place. Comme cette alternative est simple et plus abordable que des travaux de remplacement de fenêtres, cette technologie a permis d’améliorer les performances énergétiques du bâtiment, mais également, d’économiser des sommes importantes.

Conservation du cachet architectural

Comme elles sont presque totalement transparentes, les pellicules isolantes 3M Thinsulate n’ont pas affecté l’aspect esthétique du bâtiment.  La totalité du style architectural a été conservée puisque les fenêtres de la résidence n’ont pas dû être remplacées. Ainsi, le manoir a gardé son cachet unique qui fait sa renommée.

AMÉLIORATION DES PERFORMANCES ÉNERGÉTIQUES

PROTECTION CONTRE LES RAYONS UV

CONSERVATION DU STYLE ARCHITECTURAL

CONFORT THERMIQUE EN TOUTE SAISON

Les raisons d’opter pour les pellicules de fenêtres isolantes 3M Thinsulate 75 sont nombreuses. La résidence historique du gouverneur du Minnesota représente bien tous les bienfaits dont vous et votre famille pourriez bénéficier en vous procurant cette technologie.  Améliorez considérablement le niveau d’isolation de vos fenêtres tout en protégeant vos biens et meubles des rayons UV. De plus, économisez tout en profitant d’un confort thermique incomparable. Renseignez-vous sur nos produits et demandez conseil à nos conseillers dès aujourd’hui.